What you need to know about dangerous goods.

it can be difficult, for a variety of reasons, to get compliance buy-in from everyone in your company involved with the shipping process. However, as many businesses have discovered, non-compliance with International Air Transport Association (IATA) and DOT regulations is expensive.

How do you properly protect your business and employees from costly hazmat regulations violations?

The IATA FAQ page explains in more helpful words that they are “items that may endanger the safety of an aircraft or persons on board the aircraft…[and] are also known as restricted articles, hazardous materials, and dangerous cargo. Many common items found in your household can be considered dangerous goods for the purpose of air transport.”

Dangerous Goods: Classified

  • Class 1: Explosives
    Fireworks, airbag inflators, ammunition, etc.

  • Class 2: Gases
    Aerosols, fire extinguishers, propane cylinders, etc.

  • Class 3: Flammable liquids
    Paints, lacquers, alcohols, etc.

  • Class 4: Flammable solids, spontaneous combustibles, and “dangerous when wet” materials
    Matches, carbon, sodium batteries, etc

  • Class 5: Oxidizers
    Hydrogen peroxide, ammonium nitrate fertilizers, pool chlorine, etc.

  • Class 6: Toxic or infectious substances
    Medical waste, dyes, pesticides, etc.

  • Class 7: Radioactive materials
    Density gauges, medical treatment products, uranium, etc.

  • Class 8: Corrosives
    Acids/acid solutions, batteries, iodine, etc.

  • Class 9: Miscellaneous
    Dry ice, internal combustion engines, first aid kits, etc.
    Many of these classes are divided into sub-classifications according to various properties such as temperature sensitivity (also known as flash point), toxicity, and flammability.

  • Dangerous Goods: Packaged and Labeled
    There are three packing groups corresponding to the level of danger involved:

    1.Packing Group I (indicated by the letter “X” in shipping codes)—Great Danger
    2.Packing Group II (indicated by a “Y”)—Medium Danger
    3.Packing Group III (indicated by a “Z”)—Minor Danger

    Once proper packaging is complete, the package must be labeled and placarded appropriately. Each dangerous goods class has designated signage including, among other things, color-coding, warning placards, and directional indicators

  • Dangerous Goods: Documentation Guidance
    Once packing and labeling requirements have been met, the appropriate documentation forms required for the given modes of transportation (air, ground, and sea) must be completed.
    This final, essential step verifies the qualitative and quantitative details of the shipments and declares that the shipment is compliance with both international and national requirements.